top of page
Search
  • cocomomsofscv

Nicole, D.

Coco moms is a supportive, fun, harmonious group that I'm proud to be a part of. In Santa Clarita as a mom I needed a group that kept up with my vibe. With so few black families in the area, moms raising black children all need a strong community base in order to have our kids love and live freely in our beautiful culture. Coco moms gives me and my daughter this and more. The group is a true sisterhood I so deeply appreciate. We have many commonalities being from the same ethnic background but we also celebrate our differences in experiences, education, and life challenges. Coco moms puts helping each other as a priority with Motherhood being at the forefront of it. I've gotten major support from the beginning. I joined at the start and coco moms has been instrumental in my healing and many growing phases. Years ago I joined as a recently divorced mother; it was an uncomfortable time for me in my life. At the time I needed to re-design a happy life for me and my child. Kei Kei and the others held me up and comforted my spirit many many times. I participated in coco convos during quarantine on zoom and joined play dates at the park for our kids. At the beginning of covid I experienced job loss from my corporate job as my team was let go due to my company being acquired by a competitor; while I had a college education and many years in my field my future felt scary and uncertain. I got help from group members with improving my resume, job leads, and even interviewing tips. It was a true blessing because it made this transition time feel more secure and positive. I was hopeful things would turn out fine due to the support and encouragement I received from my coco moms sisters. Eventually I landed a great job at a wonderful company and began dating again. I am confident in my career, as a mother and hopeful I will find a wonderful life partner soon. I will think very fondly of our group and continue to be appreciative of how it's helped my life. I am also extremely happy to assist others in need, attend events and recruit new members. Being a single Black mother can feel difficult at times but being a coco mom makes me feel like I am invincible. Thank god for coco moms. I'm excited for the gala and will be glad to rock my best glam.




19 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page